Copyright © 2007, Indian Institute of Metals.
The first Meeting of the members of IIM and potential members totalling 40 was held in August 1979 and the meeting was chaired by Dr. Brahma Prakash, the then Director of VSSC. Stating  the  long standing interest in the field of metallurgy and material science, Dr. Brahma Prakash stressed the need for having a local chapter of IIM in  Kerala  and effecting this a resolution was adopted  unanimously by the members to form  a chapter. After the approval of the Governing body , the Trivandrum chapter of the IIM came into existence  from  January 1980  under the Chairmanship of  Prof. P. K. Rohtagi, the then Director of National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Trivandrum. Since then,  the  chapter has  been very active and has  organised  twenty one  National Seminars and conducted three workshops with a wide participation of  the  metallurgical community from all parts of the country.

In the Year 1987, the young chapter had the proud privilege of hosting the prestigious Silver Jubilee Session of the National Metallurgist Day (NMD) and 41st Annual Technical Meeting (ATM) of the Indian Institute of Metals at Trivandrum. Again in the year 2004, the Chapter had hosted 42nd National Metallurgist Day, 58th Annual Technical Meeting and International Symposium on Metal and Materials from Titanium Minerals at Trivandrum. The Chapter has also instituted Prof. Brahma Prakash Memorial Lecture to commemorate the services rendered by late Dr. Brahma Prakash to the chapter. This is held as a part of the National Seminar being conducted every year by the chapter. For the benefit of the members, the chapter is regularly arranging lectures from distinguished metallurgists visiting this region either alone or in association with other professional bodies. Through Metnews, the chapter newsletter, the chapter publishes the important professional activities of the members. To promote interest on metals and materials among the students, chapter also arrange Metals and materials Quiz programme for the students of the schools of this region. The winners of this competition are selected to represent the chapter in the national level Prof. Brahma Prakash Memorial Materials Quiz being held every year at IGCAR, Kalpakkam. Over the years the members of the chapter had won many prestigious IIM and NMD awards in addition to many other awards conferred for their professional excellence.

As on today , the chapter has over 100 members from R & D organisations such as VSSC, NIIST, LPSC, SCTIMST and industries like KELTEC, IRE and Carborundum Universal.